Kovind to become India’s elcted President.


Guwahati/ 20th July’2017 (Prag News Desk): The counting of the votes have started in New Dehi on Thursday to decide the fate of two contenders — the ruling NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind, and the combined Opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

Officials said the counting began at 11 a.m. simultaneously across four tables. There will be eight rounds of counting, and announcements made after every round.

They said all preparations have been made for the vote count and that all ballot boxes have already reached Parliament House by Tuesday evening amid tight security.

The tally so far:

3.15 p.m.: Goa: Mr. Kovind 25 votes, Ms. Kumar 11 votes

3.10 p.m.: State-wise details of voting: Punjab: Mr. Kovind 18, Ms. Kumar 95, 3 rejected; Orissa: Mr. Kovind 127, Ms. Kumar 16, 2 rejected; Gujarat: Mr. Kovind 132, Ms. Kumar 49; Haryana: Mr. Kovind 73 votes, Ms. Kumar 16 votes; MPs: Mr. Kovind 522 votes valued at 369,576, Ms. Kumar 225 votes valued at 159,300, 21 votes invalid.

Share it on

Leave a Reply