Now Rajya Sabha Members can address in Bodo and Nepali too



With the commencement of the Monsoon session on July 18, the members of the Rajya Sabha can speak in Bodo, Marathi, Manipuri, Nepali and Maithili.

Starting from this Monsoon Session, the Rajya Sabha members can speak in any of the 22 languages which are listed in the 8th Schedule of Constitution. Of the 22 scheduled languages, the Rajya Sabha had earlier established interpretation services for 12 languages – Assamese, Bengali, Guajarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

For five languages viz., Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri and Nepali, interpreters of Lok Sabha, were being deployed, as per reports.

The Upper House is providing the facility for interpretation in five more languages of Kashmiri, Dogri, Santhali, Konkani and Sindhi, from the monsoon session.

Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah said, “I have always felt that mother tongue is the natural medium to convey our feelings and thoughts without any retention. I believe that speaking in mother tongue enables netter expression of thought.”

Share it on

Leave a Reply