• We are confident that we will win with highest number of votes: APCC president Bhupen Borah


    Guwahati: Confident of winning with highest votes in the ongoing by-elections in five constituencies of Assam, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Bhupen Borah exclaimed with confidence, “Wherever the turnout is highest, we will win. We have been getting calls from our party workers from different booths. They are hopeful.”

    Borah said that he is being informed by polling agents in every centre wherein the agents are maintaining an estimate.

    “I can’t say that at what time I will win. However, by evening everything should be clear. After the polls we will get the information from the polling agents.”, he added.

    Also read: Assam By-Poll Update: 51.65 percent voters turn out till 1 pm

    “If people are not coming out to vote that means public is hesitant”.

    He added that the youths desire a change the government but this voting will not bring changes in this regard.

    Bhabanipur, Gossaigaon, Thowra have shown significant turnouts so far, stated Bora.

    Over 51.65 percent of voters cast their votes till 1 pm on Saturday in the five constituencies of Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thowra, where voting is underway.

    As per official reports, till 1 pm, the highest voter turnout has been recorded in Bahabanipur – 62 percent, Gossaigaon-58 percent, Thowra-55 percent, Tamulpur- 48 percent, Mariani- 36 percent, respectively.  

    The constituency with the highest number of electors out of five is Tamulpur LAC, with 2, 17,432 electors. The constituency having the lowest number of electors is Thowra LAC having 1, 15,971 electors.

    Weather Forecast