27 C
27 C
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
HomeSportsChennai Super Kings lifts IPL 2021 trophy, beats Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai Super Kings lifts IPL 2021 trophy, beats Kolkata Knight Riders

Dubai: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) lifted their fourth Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 trophy on Friday after defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the final by 27 runs.

MS Dhoni-led CSK team put into bat first after Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to bowl. CSK scored 192 for the loss of three wickets in the stipulated 20 overs riding on Faf du Plessis’ 86 off 59 and Moeen Ali’s unbeaten 37 off 20 balls. For Kolkata, Sunil Narine took two wickets.

While KKR scores only 165 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs with the help of Shubman Gill’s 51 off 43 and Venkatesh Iyer’s 50 off 32 balls.

Post win addressing a press conference, CSK coach Stephen Fleming rating the 2018 final win as special, said, “All IPL win are result of hard work but I think the 2018 win was very emotional as there is a lot of our hard work in this too.”

Also Read: Kohli’s stint as RCB captain ends with disappointment

“If you look back we were called Dad’s Army in the first year (2018), now, i think a lot of people had no hope from us to maintain the competitiveness during this year.” added Fleming.

Faf du Plessis wins the Man of the Match award for smashing a knock of 86 in 59 balls for Chennai.

CSK’s Ruturaj Gaikwad, who scored 32 off 27 deliveries in the final clash, has won the Orange Cap for scoring the highest run with 635 runs from 16 matches in this edition of IPL and the Purple Cap goes to RCB’s Harshal Patel, who has registered 32 wickets in 15 games in this IPL season.

Previously, MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings lift the IPL trophy in 2010, 2011 and 2018.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular