Farm Bills: Action initiated against 8 MPs including Ripun Bora over unruly behavior in Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: A total of eight MPs were suspended from Rajya Sabha on Monday for unruly behaviour over the passing of the controversial farm bills in the upper house. The MPs include Derek O Brien, Sanjay Singh, Raju Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain and Elamaran Karim.

Condemning the MP’s misbehaviour with Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh on Sunday, Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said that it was a bad day for the Upper House of the Parliament.

Also read: The secret behind the secret chamber: Arrested Al Qaeda member’s house found with secrets

“It was a bad day for Rajya Sabha yesterday when some members came to the well of the House. Deputy Chairman was physically threatened. He was obstructed from doing his duty. This is unfortunate & condemnable. I suggest to MPs, please do some introspection,” Naidu said.

As the session began on Monday, BJP Rajya Sabha MPs filed a complaint against opposition members who created ruckus in the Rajya House on Sunday during the discussion over farm bills.

Also read: KMSS and 70 other organizations to float new political party within September

On Sunday, the Upper House of the Parliament, which witnessed a ruckus from the opposition over the Bills, has been adjourned till 9 am on Monday.

The ruckus was created when Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Narendra Singh Tomar was replying to the concerns raised by opposition MPs.

Opposition MPs raised slogans against the government and some also throw out the papers in the Upper House. TMC MP Derek O’Brien entered the well of the House and showed the rule book to Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh, during a discussion in the House on agriculture Bills.

Also read: 8 killed and many injured after building collapses in Maharashtra’s Bhiwandi

The House witnessed continuous sloganeering by Opposition MPs in the well of the House, against the agriculture Bills. 

The two Bills have now been passed by the both Houses of the Parliament.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
Live Updates COVID-19 CASES