16 C
16 C
Monday, November 29, 2021
HomeSportsHarbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath receive MCC's honorary life membership

Harbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath receive MCC’s honorary life membership

London: Former India cricketers Harbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath are listed among 18 players given honorary life membership by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

“MCC awards Honorary Life Membership of the Club to some of the world’s finest cricketers. We are delighted to announce the names of the latest men and women to have been bestowed with this privilege,” the official announcement stated.

Harbhajan is India’s third-highest wicket-taker in tests, with 417 dismissals in 103 tests. Also, Srinath is one of the nation’s most famous One Day International (ODI) players. He took 315 wickets to end his career as India’s second-highest wicket-taker in ODIs.

Also Read: India’s first-ever Olympic fencer Bhavani Devi wins Charlellville National Competition in France

The additional 16 members to get the award recognized were four South Africans. Proteas’ second-highest Test run-scorer Hashim Amla. Herschelle Gibbs, the first to hit six sixes in an ODI and World Cup. Jacques Kallis, the only of the two all-rounders to make 12,000 international runs and take 500 wickets. And Morne Morkel, one of their primary pacers of the last decade.

The list further comprises Englands’ Sir Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Marcus Trescothick, and female cricketer Sarah Taylor. Australia’s Damien Martyn and Alex Blackwell, while Ian Bishop, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, and Ramnaresh Sarwan from the West Indies also made it to the award list.

“We are thrilled to be able to welcome our newest Honorary Life Members of MCC. The cricketers announced today are among the greatest international players of their generation,” Guy Lavender, chief executive & secretary of MCC, stated in an announcement.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular