23 C
23 C
Monday, January 24, 2022
HomeNationalRegionalLandmark victory for BJP in Tripura civic polls, grabs 51 seats in...

Landmark victory for BJP in Tripura civic polls, grabs 51 seats in AMC

Agartala: In its landmark victory in Tripura civic polls, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won all the 51 seats in Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and won several other urban local bodies. 

As per reports, BJP won all the wards in the 15-member Khowai Municipal Council, 17-seat Belonia Municipal Council, 15-member Kumarghat Municipal Council and nine-member Sabroom Nagar Panchayat, state election commission officials said. The party made a clean sweep in the 25-ward Dharmanagar Municipal Council, 15-seat Teliamura Municipal Council and 13-member Amarpur Nagar Panchayat.

BJP had fielded candidates for all the 334 seats of Agartala Municipal Corporation, 13 municipal bodies and six Nagar Panchayats in the state, where its nominees won in 112 places uncontested.

Also Read: My goal is to serve the nation and not to be in power: PM Modi

A total of 785 candidates filed their nomination papers for 222 wards. The BJP won 217 seats while the CPI (M) contended themselves with 3 seats, followed by TMC and TIPRA Motha (each bagging just 1 seat). BJP won a total of 329 seats out of 334 seats.

Congratulating the Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb, Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted, “A huge congratulation to Hon’ble Tripura CM Shri @BjpBiplab & @BJP4Tripurafor the party’s clean sweep of the civic body polls, winning 217 out of the total 222 seats. It’s another testimony to popular support for the visionary leadership of Adarniya PM Shri @narendramodiji.”

On November 25, elections were held for 14 of 20 urban local bodies in the state. Of the total 324 municipal seats in the state, the BJP won 112 seats uncontested, and the remaining 222 seats registered a healthy 81.54 percent voter turnout.


Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular