25 C
25 C
Saturday, November 27, 2021
HomeSportsNeeraj Chopra, Lovlina Borgohain conferred with Khel Ratna Awards 2021, see full...

Neeraj Chopra, Lovlina Borgohain conferred with Khel Ratna Awards 2021, see full list of awardees

New Delhi: Bringing accolades to the country through their magnificent show of sportsmanship in Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics, the nations’ sportspersons were conferred with Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award on Saturday.

Also read: No More Covid Relaxation for Pregnant Women Employees, Government issues new SOP

Tokyo Olympics gold-medalist Neeraj Chopra, boxer Lovlina Borgohain, wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya, footballer Sunil Chhetri, cricketer Mithali Raj were among the 12 athletes who were nominated for the Khel Ratna Award. All the athletes were conferred with the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award by President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. 

Neeraj Chopra ended India’s 100-year run for an elusive Olympic gold medal in athletics at the Tokyo 2020. At the same time, he also became the second Indian after shooter Abhinav Bindra to win an individual Olympic gold medal. Ravi Dahiya became the second Indian wrestler to earn an Olympic silver medal on August 5. The wrestler was defeated 4-7 by reigning world champion Zavur Uguev in the men’s freestyle 57kg final. India Women’s ODI captain Mithali Raj went past former England batter Charlotte Edwards to hold the world record for the most runs in women’s international cricket in July.  Lovlina Borgohain won the bronze medal for India in the Women’s Welterweight event in the Tokyo Olympics 2020.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular