• Manipur: Congress Prez along with 8 MLAs resign, likely to join BJP


    Imphal: Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Govindas Konthoujam along with 8 MLAs resigned from his post on Tuesday.

    According to reports, as many as eight Congress MLAs in the state will join the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today.

    In December last year, Konthoujam, a six-time consecutively elected Congress MLA from Bishnupur, was appointed as the president of Manipur Congress by Sonia Gandhi.

    The BJP formed the government in the state for the first time in 2017. It will seek to retain power in the 60 seats of the Legislative Assembly.

    Weather Forecast