• The man with a mission - Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma set to be the 15th CM of Assam

    The man with a mission - Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma set to be the 15th CM of Assam

    Assam Health Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma is all set to be the next chief minister of the state after he was elected unanimously by the BJP Legislature Party, which met in Guwahati on Sunday. He was elevated after his name was proposed by outgoing CM Sarbananda Sonowal and others present at the meeting.

    Himanta Biswa Sarma will take oath at 12 pm tomorrow for the Chief Minister’s post of Assam. The swearing-in-ceremony will also see the attendance of BJP National President J P Nadda. There will be a grand swearing-in ceremony for the winning MLA's and the new Chief Minister of Assam Dr. Himanta at Guwahati's Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra.

    On Saturday, Sarma and Sonowal, both contenders for the top post, were in New Delhi to meet the BJP central leadership. Sarma visited Nadda’s residence, where he also met Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP general secretary B L Santosh. A series of meetings, lasting for more than four hours, were held with Nadda and Amit Shah, following which Sarma said that the BJP’s legislature party is likely to meet on Sunday and all questions related to the next government will be answered there.

    The BJP had not announced a chief ministerial candidate before the Assembly polls in Assam and speculations are rife for the last one week on who would be the next chief minister of the state.

    Leading the BJP's mission of a "Congress-mukt Bharat" in the northeast, Himanta Biswa Sarma has proved to be a political asset in expanding the BJP's base in the northeast region -- a territory where the saffron party had no presence till a few years ago -- since his switch from the Congress.

    The BJP wrested power from the 15-year-old Tarun Gogoi government.

    From handling the Covid-19 pandemic in Assam as the health minister to steering the BJP out of the CAA agitation, Himanta Biswa Sarma will now be the next chief minister of the state.