• India’s squad for Tests series against New Zealand announced

    India’s squad for Tests series against New Zealand announced

    Mumbai: India’s Test squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand was announced on Friday. The All-India Senior Selection Committee picked the squad for the two-match Test series starting from November 25.

    Comprising of Ajinkya Rahane (c), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Shubman Gill, S Iyer, Wriddiman Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, J Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohd Siraj and Prasidh Krishna.

    Newly appointed T20 captain Rohit Sharma, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, and pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have all been rested as part of BCCI’s workload management policy.

    Also Read: Assam: AMTRON’s bank account hacked, Rs 2.57 crore fished out

    “Virat Kohli will join and contribute the squad for the second Test and will lead the team,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced in a press conference.
    Middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer made a comeback in the Test squad along with off-spinner Jayant Yadav.

    India will play New Zealand in three T20Is (November 17, 19 and 21) and two Tests (November 25-29 and December 3-7). The first Test will be played at Kanpur and the second will take place in Mumbai.