• OIL-AITA Super Series Tennis Begins from Today

    OIL-AITA Super Series Tennis Begins from Today

    Guwahati: There is good news for sports enthusiasts as the All India Tennis Association (AITA) has granted two Super Series Tennis Tournaments at Guwahati.

    The opening match for boys and girls under 16 years of age started today and will continue until September 3, 2021. The second match for boys and girls under 14 years age group will start from September 6 to 10 at the All Assam Tennis Association (AATA) Complex, Chachal.

    The day started with the boys singles 1st round matches with no major upsets. The 8th seed Darwin Max of Tamilnadu was tossed out from the singles event by unseeded Sehaj Singh Pawar of Karnataka in straight sets 6-1, 6-0. All the other seeds advanced to the next step.

    Due to heavy downpours in the afternoon, the girl's singles competitions were delayed by two hours. Debasish Sahoo was the top seed in the boy's singles, while Bhicky Sagolsem of Manipur was the 2nd seed.

    In the girl's singles, the event top seed was given to Dhvani Kavad of Gujarat, and Namrata Das of Assam was awarded 2nd seed.

    The boys and girls singles pre-quarterfinal singles matches will begin tomorrow morning, accompanied by the boys and girls doubles competitions.

    Here are the highlights of today's match results:-

    1.       Top seed Debasis Sahoo (OD) def Almas Ebon Ahmed (AS). 6-2, 6-1.
    2.       Uday Singh Batra (PB) def Abhilesh Barman (AS). 6-3, 6-2.
    3.       Ethan Lee (WB) def Bikramadittyya N Mahanta (AS). 6-2, 6-2.
    4.       Sehaj Singh Pawar (KA) def 8th seed Darwin Max (TN). 6-1, 6-0. (Upset)
    5.       4th seed Shanker Heishnam (MN) def Ved Aditya Kalita (AS). 6-3, 6-2.
    6.       Neeraj Ringangaonka (MH) def Bhasata P Borah (AS). 6-2, 4-6, 6-1.
    7.       6th seed Antariksh Tamuly (AS) def Jishnu P Das (AS). 6-2, 6-1.
    8.       7th seed Smith Nileshbhai Patel (GJ) def Riyan Kashyap (AS). 6-1, 6-1.
    9.       Hrisheek Vavilapally (TS) def Borneel Bihan Borah (AS). 6-4, 6-2.
    10.   Neel Niranjan Joglekar (MH) def Ryann Singh (UP). 6-3, 7-5.
    11.   3rd seed Pranav Mishra (UP) def Aayan Sarma (AS). 6-4, 6-0.
    12.   5th seed Krish Tyagi (KA) def Abyan Zaffar (AS). 6-0, 6-0.
    13.   2nd seed Bhicky Sagolsem (MN) def Samprit Sharma (CHA). 6-1, 6-4.

    1.       Presha Shantamoor (KA) def Gaurika Chaudhury (AS). 6-0, 6-0.
    2.       Sohini Sanjay Mohanty (WB) def Kaatyayini Vasisth (AS). 6-0, 6-1.