• Olympian Lalremsiami Hmar to lead India's Women Hockey team in Junior World Cup

    Olympian Lalremsiami Hmar to lead India's Women Hockey team in Junior World Cup

    Guwahati: Mizoram Olympian Lalremsiami Hmar will lead India's junior women hockey team at the FIH (Federation Internationale de Hockey) World Cup scheduled to begin on December 5 in South Africa. Defender Ishika Chaudhary has been selected as the team's vice-captain.

    A total of 16 teams from across the globe will fight for the tittle, which Argentina won in 2016.

    Chief Coach Janneke Schopman stated, "To pick the final selection of 18 players was extremely difficult, especially as all 28 players in the Core Probable Group worked very hard in the past months and made good progress."

    Also Read: Sensex drops over 100 in early trade, Nifty slips below 18,100

    "We feel that we have selected a strong team that can compete with every team at the Junior World Cup." she added.

    Reportedly, India is in Pool C and will play against Russia on December 6. In the round-robin league, India will take on defending champion Argentina on December 7, followed by a match against Japan on December 9. Moreover, the knockout matches will take place on December 10 and 16.

    The Netherland, Ireland, Korea and Zimbabwe are in Pool A, while Pool B comprises Canada, England, Belgium and Uruguay. Argentina, India, Japan and Russia in Pool C and Germany, Spain, United States and South Africa in Pool D.

    The 18 members India Team includes- Bichu Devi Kharibam, Khushboo, Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Beauty Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo. Moreover, Salima Tete and Sharmila Devi, who were part of India's breathtaking performance at the Tokyo Olympics, were in the team.

    Preeti and Prabhleen Kaur have been assigned as alternate players, who will play only if there is injury or someone is infected with Covid-19 among the 18-members team.

    Notably, team India best played in 2013, where the team won bronze beating England.