17 C
17 C
Saturday, December 4, 2021
HomeSportsT20 World Cup: Automatic Super 12 qualifiers confirmed for 2022 edition

T20 World Cup: Automatic Super 12 qualifiers confirmed for 2022 edition

Mumbai: Among 12 automatic qualifiers for the 2022 edition of the tournament, 8 of the 12 teams from this year will go directly into the Super12 platform.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh have been affirmed a Super 12 place in the T20 World Cup 2022 edition. The tournament will be played in Australia.

On the other hand, West Indies and Sri Lanka need to face another round to join the Super 12 stage.

The automatic qualifiers for the T20 World Cup 2022 will be selected by the winner. It will also include the runners-up of the continuing T20 World Cup. Six teams will be ranked next highest on the ICC Men’s T20I rankings by November 15.

Also Read: Silchar to host sixth edition of Northeast Green Summit in November

“The automatic qualifiers for the Super 12 stage were determined to be the winner and runner-up of the current T20 World Cup, alongside the next six highest ranking teams on the ICC Men’s T20I rankings at the cut-off date of November 15,” the ICC stated.

“On Saturday, the teams that will fill those spots were confirmed courtesy of West Indies’ loss to Australia. This means they will sit 10th by the cut-off date, with Bangladesh climbing to eighth,” it further added.

England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Australia are the top six teams. Before West Indies clashes with Australia, these six teams confirmed that their rankings would not go down during the remainder of the 2021 T20 World Cup. These teams have ensured that they qualified into the Super 12 stage of the next year’s tournament.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular