• ALERT! The camera on your smartphone can be used to spy on you; Find out how to check if you are hacked

    Technology
    ALERT! The camera on your smartphone can be used to spy on you; Find out how to check if you are hacked

    Users must be careful and vigilant, as no technology is completely immune to security risks...

    Digital Desk: Do you suspect that your iPhone or Android phone's camera is being used to spy on you? Don't worry, you can learn how to check this. With the advancement of smartphone security, hackers often have a difficult time cracking smartphones, particularly iPhones.

    Apple's devices have a reputation for being among the most secure on the market. This is primarily due to Apple's extensive security measures. However, this does not rule out the chance that your iPhone or Android phone camera is spying on you.

    Users must be careful and vigilant, as no technology is completely immune to security risks. Someone could be spying on you through the camera on your smartphone. Fortunately, there is a method for doing so.

    For iPhone

    The technique for detecting whether or not your iPhone is being used to spy on you is simple for iPhone owners. If the microphone is currently or recently accessible, iOS 14 or later users will notice an orange dot in the top-right corner of the phone. If the camera is accessed, a green dot displays in the same spot.

    For Android phones

    However, there is no simple method to tell if someone is using your Android device's camera or microphone. But there is a workaround. Access Dots is an app that Android users can download from the Google Play Store that alerts them in the same way as the iPhone does. It mimics the camera and microphone dots on the iPhone to inform users when their smartphone is being accessed.

    With the most current Android updates, each app you download will seek a distinct set of permissions based on what it requires. A photo editing program, for example, may request access to your storage, camera, microphone, and photo gallery. Users are thus aware of which apps have access to specific permissions.