25 C
25 C
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
HomeNationalWest Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and two others take oath as MLA

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and two others take oath as MLA

West Bengal: West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee took oath as Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) at the state assembly on Thursday. Besides, Banerjee, Amirul Islam and Jakir Hossain also took oath as MLAs.

West Bengal governor Jagdeeep Dhankar administered the oath of office to the newly-elected MLAs.

TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee, who recently secured the Bhabanipur constituency by beating her BJP rival Priyanka Tibrewal by more than 58,000 votes, took the oath in Bengali.

Also Read: Mamata Banerjee to take oath as an MLA on October 7: Partha Chatterjee

Jakir Hossain secured its seat from Jangipur and Amirul Islam was elected from Samserganj assembly seats.

In the recently concluded by-poll, Mamata Banerjee gained 84,709 votes while Priyanka Tibrewal bagged 26,320 votes. On the other hand, Communist Party of India (CPI) leader Srijib Biswas got 4,201 votes.

The West Bengal Chief Minister had vacated her home turf, Bhabanipur, ahead of the 2021 polls in the state, to contest from Nandigram against her protégé-turned-bête noire Suvendu Adhikari. She had lost by nearly 1200 votes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Watch latest Movies & TV Series on Prag Play

Most Popular