• Stage all set for the oath-taking ceremony of the new CM of Assam


    Guwahati: The stage is all set for the oath-taking ceremony of the new CM of Assam, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sharma as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam.

    Sarma will be given the oath of office by the Governor today at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra, Guwahati at 12 noon.

    READ ALSO: Tezpur: 300 Shops Gutted in Fire at Chowk Bazar

    The auditorium consists of 1200 seat capacity, however considering Covid protocols only 600 individuals will be granted for the ceremony. There will be a separate entry for the VIP, VVIP as well as other BJP leaders. The ceremony has been taken forwarded following all the Covid guidelines and protocols in mind.

    After the legislature party meeting, Himanta was declared as the new chief minister of Assam on Sunday. BJP National President JP Nadda along with prime party leaders and half a dozen Chief Ministers are expected to attend the event.

    READ ALSO: Man forced to carry his daughter’s body on cot for 35 kms for post mortem

    Sarma chose Twitter to display his gratitude to the people of the Assam. "With fragrance of Assam in my heart & love of my wonderful people in my veins, I offer my deepest gratitude to you all. I would not have been what I am had it not been for your pious faith in me. On this day, I vow to work with & for each one of you with greater passion Assam," he tweeted.

    In a different tweet, he acknowledged Prime Minister Narendra Modi saying, "This is the biggest day in my life, and I so fondly cherish your generous affection. I assure you we shall leave no stone unturned to carry forward your vision of taking Assam, & NE to greater heights."

    READ ALSO: Covid centre inside ‘Gaushala’, Covid patients treated with drugs made from cow milk, urine

    The BJP-led NDA achieved a healthy majority in Assam succeeding 75 seats of the entire 126 constituencies. Sarma has maintained his winning sphere as the winning candidate for another term from the Jalukbari constituency. Fairly, he is now chosen as the new Chief Minister of Assam, for serving the state with support and solicitude.

    Following is the guest of honour for the ceremony:

    1. CM of 6 states
    2. Deputy CM of Arunachal Pradesh
    3. Baijayant Panda
    4. B.L Santosh
    5. Sarbanada Sonowal
    6. Dr. JP Nadda
    7. Riniki Bhuyan Sarma
    8. Mrinalini Devi
    9. Jitenra Singh
    10. 10.Rameshwar Teli
    11. Ajay Jamwel
    12. Dilip Saikia
    13. DGP Assam
    14. Phani Sarma

    READ ALSO: Veteran freedom fighter Lalti Ram passes away at 100

    Weather Forecast