• TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee to take oath as West Bengal Chief Minister for the third time


    Kolkata: Trinamool Congress Chairperson Mamata Banerjee is slated to take oath as the Chief Minister of West Bengal on Wednesday i.e, May 5.

    ALSO READ: 2 month-old baby’s body abandoned by ‘heartless’ parents after he tested positive for Covid

    Banerjee was elected to the office for the first time in 2011 ending the34 year Left Front rule in the State. Ms. Banerjee was again elected in 2016.

    TMC senior party leader Partha Chatterjee confirmed that Banerjee will take oath as Chief Minister on May 5.

    ALSO READ: 15 dead, 70 injured after rail overpass collapses, scary video goes viral

    Speaking to the media Banerjee said, “Her first priority will be to tackle the Covid-19 pandemic. She also added that the decision to take oath of office in the next few days is to ensure that the state government can take decisive decision to tackle the pandemic,”

    ALSO READ: IAF airlifts 900 oxygen cylinders from Britain to fight against Covid 19

    “We should not indulge in any violence. The most important task at our hand is to serve people in the times of Covid crises.” Banerjee added

    The TMC chairperson said that the swearing in ceremony will be a minimalist event. Ms. Banerjee also reiterated her demand that centre should provide vaccination free of cost.

    ALSO READ: India against Covid: India-crosses 2 crore mark, add 357,229 new infections

    The TMC chairperson said leaders across the country including Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackray, Punjab Chief Minister Amrinder Singh and delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had congratulate her on her victory. Ms. Banerjee added that she didn’t receive any phone call from Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

    ALSO READ: Lockdown Violators in Ambala performs squats as punishment

    Even though the ruling party TMC won the West Bengal Legislative Assemly election,2021 by 212 out of 292 seats but Mamata Banerjee herself lost the battle from Nandigram constituency which was won by BJP's Sivendu Adhikari with a 1,957-votes.

    Weather Forecast