• Banks to remain shut for 15 days in August


    Banks, public as well as private ones will remain closed for 15 days in the month of August. The holidays include the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays of the month. The other 8 days include regional holidays, among these eight holidays some are state-specific holidays, so not all banks will remain closed.

    According to RBI categorization bank holidays in India are classified into three categories: Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday and Banks' Closing of Accounts. 

    Other than the weekly holidays, here is the complete list of bank holidays in August:

    August 13: Patriot’s Day (Manipur)

    August 16: Parse New Year (Maharastra)

    August 19: Muharram

    August 20: Muharram/First Onam

    August 21: Thiruvonam (Kerala)

    August 23: Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi

    August 30: Janmashtami

    August 31: Sri Krishna Ashtami

    Weather Forecast