• TMC leader Sushmita Dev elected to Rajya Sabha from West Bengal

    TMC leader Sushmita Dev elected to Rajya Sabha from West Bengal

    New Delhi: Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Sushmita Dev was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal. There was no nominee against her for the seat, and thereby announced the winner.

    Moreover, BJP didn't field any candidates against her.

    TMC nominated Sushmita Dev to the Upper House after she left the Congress party to join TMC. At the time of joining, Sushmita Dev said, "I was beginning a new chapter of public service."

    Also Read: Assam: Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed

    TMC's official handle tweeted, "We are extremely pleased to nominate @SushmitaDevAITC to the Upper House of Parliament."

    Thanking the TMC for giving her the opportunity, Sushmita Dev reacted on Twitter: "I am overwhelmed. I Thank my leader @MamataOfficial from the bottom of my heart. Her conviction to see more women in parliament is exemplary. I will do my very best."

    Sushmita dev, a former All India Mahila Congress Chief, switched over to the TMC from the Congress in August 2021. She is the daughter of former Union Minister and Congress veteran Santosh Mohan Dev.

    Read Also: Google celebrates its 23rd birthday with a unique doodle

    She lost to Rajdeep Roy of the BJP in Silchar in the Assam Assembly polls held earlier this year.

    The TMC leader was also president of the All India Mahila Congress before she resigned from the party.