• TRS MPs move privilege motion against PM comments over Telangana formation bill

    Digital Desk: On Thursday, four Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) members in the Rajya Sabha filed a Privilege Motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi over his comments in the Upper House on the Telangana formation bill on February 8. Mr Modi questioned the parliamentary procedure utilized to divide Andhra Pradesh into the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in 2014 during his Motion of Thanks to the President's address, arguing that doors were locked, pepper sprays were used, and microphones were turned off to pass the law. "The report on Telangana formation bill tries to describe the Parliament Houses in the most awful and haughty glare, criticizing and deflating the processes and proceedings of the House and its functioning," the members penned in a letter to Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu.  "It's the same as criticizing Members of Parliament and Presiding Officers for their conduct in the House. Even the Presiding Officer's decision to close the House doors to stop the reach of trouble or misconduct by a few members is called into doubt." They moved on to state that the Prime Minister frankly questioned the techniques employed by the House's presiding officers and managing throughout the Bill (Lok Sabha, February 20, 2014; Rajya Sabha, February 21, 2014). According to the members, both Houses conducted under the leadership and guidance of the Presiding Officer, who obeys the laws and whose expression is always absolute. "Finding a hole on either point is a violation of the House's privilege, raising the point of contempt."  "In this case, the Prime Minister tried to find matter with the Presiding Officer's conduct and charged them as unruly," the letter noted. Also Read: Hijab Row: RSS Muslim Wing Supports Karnataka Girl K. Keshava Rao, J. Santosh Kumar, B. Lingaiah Yadav, and K.R Suresh Reddy were the individuals who signed the letter. TRS members opposed the Well of the House as the Rajya Sabha started its procedures on Thursday. The Prime Minister's opinions on the Andhra Re-organisation Bill were even criticized by Opposition Leader Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress). Mr Kharge commented, "Don't split the country; the Bill was passed by Parliament."

    Weather Forecast