• Punjab Police suspends security for 424 leaders, including political leaders, Takht Jathedars, and officers

    Punjab Police suspends security for 424 leaders, including political leaders, Takht Jathedars, and officers

    Punjab Police Department clarified that security removal is temporarily due to an emerging law and order duty.

    Digital Desk: The Punjab Police has ordered the removal of 424 people from security, including former MLAs, Jathedars of two Takhts, Dera heads, and police officers. 

    In an order issued on Friday, the additional director general of police (security) stated that the security personnel was "being withdrawn on a purely temporary basis in connection with an emergent law and order duty."

    Giani Harpreet Singh, Jathedar of Takht Damdama Sahib in Bathinda, is one of the prominent Sikh temporal authorities who has lost security cover. He is also the Jathedar of Akal Takht, the highest temporal seat of the Sikhs. 

    Security has also been withdrawn for Giani Raghbir Singh, Jathedar of Takht Kesgarh Sahib in Anandpur Sahib district; Sant Niranjan Dass, chief of Dera Sachkhand Ballan in Jalandhar; Satguru Udhay Singh Namdhari, Bhaini Sahib, Ludhiana; Giani Jagtar Singh, head granthi at Golden Temple in Amritsar; Baba Lakha Singh, Gurdwara Nanaksar Kaleran wale, Jagraon; and Sant Tarminder Singh, Dera chief of Kahna Dhesian, Goraya in Jalandhar has also been withdrawn, as per the order.

    Notably, Ten personnel were deployed to protect Dera Radha Soami Satsang Beas, nine to protect Dera Divya Jyoti Jagriti Sansthan, Noormahal, and six to protect Shahi Imam Punjab, Mohammad Usman, Ludhianvi. 

    Shiromani Akali Dal, the legislator from Majitha seat Ganieve Kaur Majithia, Congress MLA from Jalandhar Cantonment Pargat Singh, and AAP MLA from Ludhiana North Madan Lal Bagga are among them whose security has been revoked.

    Former Congress MLAs Kuljit Singh Nagra, Balwinder Singh Laddi, Harminder Gill, Madan Lal Jalalpur, Surjit Dhiman, Hardial Kamboj, and Sukhpal Bhullar have also lost their security cover, as have former BJP and SAD legislators Dinesh Babbu, Sharanjit Singh Dhillon, Kanwarjit Singh, and Gurpartap Singh Wadala. 

    Former AAP legislators Kanwar Sandhu and Jagtar Singh Jagga have also lost security protection.

    Personnel sent to protect former MLA and BJP leader Fatehjang Bajwa, former minister Tikshan Sood, and BJP chief spokesperson Anil Sareen have also been summoned. 

    Security has also been withdrawn for Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speakers Rana K P Singh and Nirmal Singh Kahlon, former deputy speaker Ajaib Singh Bhatti, and former MP Shamsher Singh Dullo.

    Other prominent leaders whose protection has been revoked include Iqbal Singh Lalpura, chairperson of the National Commission for Minorities; Sanjay Srivastava, chairman of the Bhakra Beas Management Board; former Rajya Sabha MP Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa; Raj Bahadur, vice-chancellor of Baba Farid University of Health Sciences; and singer Shubhdeep Singh Sidhu, also known as Sidhu Moosewal Additional director general of police rank officers S K Asthana, L K Yadav, M F Farooqui, Varinder Kumar, Parveen Kumar Sinha, Shashi Prabha Dewedi, Arpit Shukla, Ishwar Singh, B Chandra Sekhar, and V Neerja are among those whose security has been reduced.

    Harpreet Singh Sidhu, the head of the anti-drug Special Task Force, has also had his security reduced. AK Mittal, R K Jaiswal, Jaskaran Singh, Jatinder Singh Aulakh, Gautam Cheema, Gurinder Dhillon, and Ananya Gautam are among the inspector general rank officers whose protection has been reduced.

    According to the order, the security of several former DGP rank officers, including Chander Shekhar, NPS Aulakh, P C Dogra, RP Singh, S K Verma, R K Gupta, Rajinder Singh Mohammad Mustafa, MK Tiwari, D R Bhatti, Sanjiv Gupta, and Rajan Gupta, has been withdrawn.

    Also Read: India slams Islamic Nations' Group over Yasin Malik's remarks