• 75th Independence Day: 18 Assam police personnel awarded medals


    Guwahati: 18 Assam police personnel will be awarded medals on the occasion of India’s 75th Independence Day celebrations.

    The former commissioner of Guwahati police, Munna Prasad Gupta, will be awarded the President’s Police Medal for his Distinguished Service. Additional superintendents of police Lamhao Doungel, Prakash Sonowal, sub-inspectors SRaju Tayeng, Saurabh Jha, and CT Nokjo Wangpan will be awarded the police medal for gallantry. Thirteen Assam police personnel have also been chosen for the prestigious Police Medal for their outstanding service.

    Director-General of Police, Law, and Order congratulated the Assam police personnel awardees via his Twitter handle.

    The Union Ministry of Home Affairs on Saturday announced that 1380 police personnel had been awarded medals on the occasion of 75th Independence Day, which will be observed on Sunday.

    The recipients have been awarded medals such as the President’s Police Medal for Gallantry, Police Medal for Gallantry, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service, and Police Medal for Meritorious Services, among others, the ministry noted in a statement.

    20 personnel from the Indo-Tibetan Border Police, which guards India’s border with China, have been awarded for their bravery in thwarting Chinese aggression in eastern Ladakh, along with the Army.

    Weather Forecast