• Raijor Dal to contest two seats in Assam bypolls

    Raijor Dal to contest two seats in Assam bypolls

    Guwahati: Raijor Dal chief Akhil Gogoi announced on Wednesday that the party will contest two seats in the upcoming Assam bypolls. The Assam bypolls will take place on October 30, 2021.

    Raijor Dal(RD) announced that the party has decided to contest for the seats of Thowra and Mariani constituencies. 

    The Congress party earlier bagged the seats of these two constituencies. However, its MLAs later resigned and switched over to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

    Also Read: BJP Vice President Dilip Ghosh writes a praiseworthy note on Assam tourism

    "Dhaijya Konwar will contest Thowra on behalf of Raijor Dal. And we will declare our Mariani candidate soon," stated Raijor Dal leader Akhil Gogoi.

    Akhil Gogoi Alleges Misbehaviour by Cops at Assam Assembly
    Raijor Dal chief Akhil Gogoi

    Sibsagar MLA Akhil Gogoi further appealed to Congress to support their nominees. Raijor Dal had tried to project common candidates for the by-polls to beat the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

    "If the Congress supports us, we will campaign for them in the remaining four seats," the Raijor Dal chief stated.

    By-elections will be held for three other seats in Assam- Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, and Gossaigaon. 

    Though Majuli is also vacant, a by-poll will not take place in the region this time. Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal resigned from the MLA's post just hours before the Election Commission announced the schedule.

    Sibsagar MLA Akhil Gogoi is the only Raijor Dal (RD) legislator in the 126-member assembly.

    Also Read: ‘OTT has become Dhanda for Producers; quality ekdam kharab ho chuka hai’: Nawazuddin

    The BJP holds 59 MLAs, whereas its allies AGP has nine, and UPPL has five legislators. Congress has 27 lawmakers, AIUDF 15, BPF three, and CPI(M) has one member in the House.

    Dhaijya Konwar as the party's candidate for the Thowra constituency

    In September, Raijor Dal announced former Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) general secretary Dhaijya Konwar as the party's candidate for the Thowra constituency by-election.

    However, the party's candidate name for the Mariani seat is yet to be announced. RD chief Akhil Gogoi hopes to win both the seats in the upcoming by-polls.